Can Facebook be a good thing?

Posted: January 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

Good morning…no one, or maybe it is just Rusty.  If so, Rusty, I hope you are enjoying your coffee and that five-hour head start you give yourself everyday.  My brother-in-law Rusty has to be to work at something like eight o’clock, and he gets up at about three in the morning.  Weirdo.  I guess it’s to trim that beautiful, manly beard of his.

Some consider Facebook to be a useless waste of time, and I do agree with them on some levels, I mean, if someone invites me to join their Mafia or start another Farm I might lose it!  People do spend hours of wasted time on Facebook, as well as other social networking sites.  But, I don’t think it is necessary to throw the baby out with the bathwater.  I have used Facebook to primarily connect with old classmates that I likely would have never seen again, and through the chatting section, I have been able to share the gospel very in depth with three, and lead one to Christ. On Facebook! The one who has professed faith is named Kyle, and you could pray for him if you’d like.  I’ve never been one for leading someone in a prayer of repentance or that sort of thing, so I shared the gospel with him one night and told him to go and pray to God, read through a few passages in his Bible I told him about and then let me know how it went.  The next night he told me, “For the first time in my life, I was on my knees last night, and I felt unworthy before God.  I knew that I had broken His law, and when I had sinned all of those other times, it was really against Him and not just someone else.  I begged Him to forgive me through Christ, and He has done it.”  That sounds genuine to me!  I was thrilled, and attempted to recommend a good church.  He has a former connection to the Catholic “Church” and the Wesleyan Church, and I could feel him getting upset when I tried to explain the differences in doctrine.  So, I decided not to feed the baby meat.  I think the best thing is to let God lead him, as he did me, hopefully into a biblical church.  I will do my best to discuss theology with him and send him some sound books.  Piper, etc.  Anyway, pray for Kyle, and don’t necessarily discount Facebook as a possibility for ministry to former Classmates.

Comments
  1. Rusty says:

    With great power, comes great responsibility…respect the power of the beard
    –Rusty

Leave a Reply

