Some thoughts on conservative political leaning:

Posted: December 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

I was listening to Rush Limbaugh recently and I noticed an inconsistency in something that he was saying.  He was castigating President Obama for not doing anything to stimulate the economy and create jobs in America.  Okay.  That’s all good and well.  But, on the other hand he was saying that we should cut unemployment benefits because people are lazy and they need to get off their butt, pull themselves up by their bootstraps and get a job.  So, Rush, which is it?  Is Obama responsible for people not working because of his crappy economic policy, or are people lazy and they just to get out there and grab one of the myriad of jobs available to them if they were just willing to work?

 

This is something I have been thinking about lately.  So many people I know, who are conservatives, claim to hate social security.  The problem is-none of them are rejecting it!  I can think of a great example of a man I know, who is a hardline conservative, made a great living his whole life, and claims to hate social security.  But he is still getting it!  If it is was so morally objectionable then he should completely reject it.

I guess I am ranting here, but I have become very disenchanted with conservatism.  I have begun to see that Republicans are not any more true to the constitution than liberals are, they just go about destroying it differently.  Not only that, but I don’t feel this special devotion anymore to the Constitution as a document, other than it being the law of the land, and our needing to follow it.  Part of that, though, is our ability to change it.

Though I wouldn’t consider myself Republican or Democrat now(I am calling myself independent now) I do see how someone who is a Christian can vote democrat.  So, my apologies to all of my left leaning brothers and sisters out there for my former rantings and ravings against you.  I don’t totally agree with you on certain things, but I see eye to eye with you now much more than before.

Leave a Reply

